An English Rose

"An English Rose"

"An English Rose"

There’s been a real push here at Man the Capstan to complete the costumes that have been under construction for the last four to five months or so, and I, as the tailor, have been one busy hombre. The crew unanimously decided that they would like to debut their gear on Old Hallowed Eve, (what better time to dress up?!) and I had to agree that this was a great idea, even though it meant that I would have to man that serger non-stop!  There are a few things not quite done, due to the fact that we are still waiting for some supplies, but that notwithstanding,  I think we are ready to make an appearance as a group.

Beautiful lace and contrast

Beautiful lace and contrast

I’m at present finishing up the third of the uniforms and I’m also very happy to say that I’ve finally completed work on the second ladies gown which I’ve called “An English Rose”.  I’m going to let David, our Sailing Master, fill you in on the details of the second Naval Officer’s uniform.

This post will be used to talk about and to exhibit the new gown which was made for our lovely daughter Shara, who also happens to be our Quartermaster and Design expert.  It is a dress that is sure to compliment her fair colouring and peaches and cream complexion.

"Accessorize!"

Accessorize!

The styling of this gown is very similar to the “Passage to India”, but this is where the similarity ends.  The colours are dramatic, intense and very “Fall”, (which just happens to be both Shara’s and my favourite time of the year, ) and is in direct contrast to the more pastel and subtle shades of the former gown.  For the main fabric of the overdress I chose another floral printed cotton, however, this is not a chintz but a more open weave matte. The Petticoat is made of a silk like fabric which has a nice sheen and texture and the lace and trims are simple but beautiful and generously used.

Laced Ruffled and Separate Petticoat

Laced Ruffled Petticoat

View of Back

View of Back

Like the “Passage to India” it is fully lined and properly laced at it’s back closure.  For accessories, I was so lucky to procure a hat that matches it exactly, and a really awesome vintage black lace hand fan.  Shara will also be wearing the pocket, hoops and some simple flat footwear. For jewelery she can wear her three strand red coral necklace and bracelet or a black velvet choker would also work out rather nicely. It’s going to look great!

I really love this gown and I think Shara  is going to attract a lot of attention dressed in it.

One thought on “An English Rose

  1. Shara says:

    Wow! This is fantastic! It is so lovely! I can’t wait to wear it when I’m not pregnant as well!

    Great job! I’m very lucky 😀

Leave a Reply

